Introductory Image Assignment

506 Intro Image.fw

 

To create my introductory image I use Adobe Fireworks.  In designing my image, my first step was to select a color scheme.  To do this, I used Adobe Color CC to locate a color scheme that was visually pleasing.  My favorite time of year is the summer because I can spend lots of time outside wearing my favorite foot attire, flip flops.  The color scheme I selected from the gallery was called Vintage Pastel 2.  Once the color scheme was chosen, I used the RGB # to create a solid background color on which I began building my image.  I then used the rounded rectangle shape to create a mat for the text box that would include my name.  I used the fill effects of the wave in this box to give it movement and to tie in with the summer colors theme.  I used a font style that I felt was refined with a whimsical element called Apple Chancery.  To have the words stand out, I used a line color to contrast and the filters of raised emboss and inner glow.
Next I brought in the logo of the school I work at and my job title along with an OER image of a computer that I located on the website Icon Finder.  Also, from this site, I found a graphic of flip flops.  For my personal images, I used the polyline tool in Fireworks to cut around them on a separate canvas and copied them into my project file.  I selected these images to represent myself and family life outside of school.  The last image was originally from Vector Portal.  I didn’t like the color scheme in the graphic, so I used Adobe Illustrator to edit the gradient scale using the colors I selected from Adobe Color CC.  I figured out how to do this using a tutorial on Lynda.com to modify the star image.  I layered this with the phrase “Shooting for the Stars” because I am always setting new goals to work on both personally and professionally.  To finish everything off, I added several drop shadows to various elements to give the image more depth.

Leave a Reply

